© 2016 Soyfree.info

  • b-facebook

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload


January 26, 2017

Please reload



  • Facebook Social Icon

78 Alternative Names for Soy in Ingredients Listings (non-exhaustive)

February 1, 2017

 It is with great gratitude and special thanks to Julie Moore for her diligence and hard-work on her blog Natural and Free. https://naturalandfree.blogspot.com/  This blog helped me establish some of the basic facts about my soy allergy in the first place.


Her passion for natural food and helping those with the top 8 allergens and/or Fibromyalgia is completely obvious and transparent.  Her research and advice has been essential to me in discovering how I become so unwell and what this will actually mean for me in my day to day life.


To start discovering how complicated this issue is here's a direct copy (copied with permission) of all the terms she and another researcher, Maya from Maya's Happy Place, have discovered are alternative names for Soy.  


Take a deep breath and read through it slowly.  If you have not realised the extent of it before, this list can be overwhelming to read through.


1. ANYTHING with Soy, Soya, Soja, or Shoyo in the name

2. ANYTHING with Lecithin in the name*

3. ANYTHING with Vegetable, Plant, or Bean in the name*

4. ANYTHING with Guar in the name*

5. ANYTHING with Xanthan or Zanthan in the name*

6. ANYTHING with Vitamin E or Toccopherol in the name*


7. MSG (Mono Sodium Glutamate)* (Please note that the terms "yeast extract/autolyzed yeast extract" refer to natural/hidden sources of MSG without having to be labeled as MSG.  Though they are NOT soy, some people with MSG sensitivities also have trouble with these ingredients.  For more information, see this website or Google "natural sources of MSG" or "hidden sources of MSG".)


8. Natural and Artificial Flavor or Flavorings*

9. Tofu

10. Miso

11. Tempeh

12. Edamame

13. Mono-diglyceride (variations on spelling)*

14. Natto

15. Okara or Akara

16. Yuba  

17. Glycerin/glycerine/vegetable glycerin*

18. Tamari

19. Teriyaki*

20. Isolates*

21. Olean 

22. Gum Arabic

23. Bulking Agent*

24. Carob

25. Emulsifier*

26. Protein or Proteins*

27. Protein Extender*

28. Stabilizer*

29. Starch*

30. Thickener*

31. TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein)*

32. HVP (Hydrolized Vegetable Protein)*

33. Alkyd Resin Solution

34. Quaternary Ammonium Salts

35. Quaternary Ammonium Compounds, Ethyldimethylsoya Alkyl, Et Soyethyldimonium Ethosulfate

36. Dimethylsoya Ammonium Ethosulfate

37. Alkyd Resin

38. Linseed Oil, Polymer with Pentaerythritol, Phthalic Anhydride, Oil, Styrene and Vinyltoluene

39. Soyaethyl Morpholinium Ethosulfate

40. Morpholinium Compounds

41. Ethyl Sulfates

42. Soyatrimonium Chloride

43. Quaternary Ammonium Compounds

44. Trimethylsoya

45. Alkyl Chlorides

46. Quaternium-9

47. PEG 5 (soy sterol)

48. PEG 10 (soy sterol)

49. PEG 16 (soy sterol)

50. PEG 25 (soy sterol)

51. PEG 30 (soy sterol)

52. PEG 40 (soy sterol)

53. Stearic acid/vegetable stearic acid or ANYTHING with stearic in the name*

54. Magnesium stearate*

55. Tyramine* (This is a naturally occuring amino acid in many foods, including soy.)
56. Abura-age (sliced deep-fried tofu)
57. Atsu-age (deep-fried tofu)
58. Gan-modoki (a soy dumpling)
59. Glycine max
60. Kinako (Japanese for soybean flour)

61. Kyodofu (freeze-dried bean curd)*
62. Nimame (stewed soybeans)
63. Shoyu
64. Uno-hana (soy pulp)
65. Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)*
66. Isolated vegetable protein*
67. Methylcellulose*
68. Monoglycerides*
69. Protein filler*

70. Caprylic Triglyceride
71. Monotriglyceride

72. Ascobyl Palmitate

73. Isostearyl Isosterate

74. Glycols

75. Tocotretrienols

76. DATEM*

77. Thiamin or Thiamine Mononitrate* 
78. Citric Acid*

*Note: Not always do these (*) products contain soy.  However, unless they are labeled specifically that they do not contain soy or a soy containing product, or you can contact the manufacturer directly and they tell you the product does not contain soy or a soy containing product, ASSUME that it does contain soy or a soy containing product. 


This means that it MUST list the name of the product that it has in it (i.e. Vegetable Oil (Corn Oil, Canola Oil, and/or Sunflower Oil)).  If it does not list a SPECIFIC name, EVEN IF IT DOES NOT LIST THAT THE PRODUCT CONTAINS SOY IN THE ALLERGEN WARNING SECTION, DO NOT EAT/USE IT IF YOU HAVE A SOY ALLERGY! 


Some soy products are still considered safe for most people with soy allergies, or the company uses an uncommon name for soy, and therefore they are not required to list their foods/products as containing soy if they fit that criteria at this time. 






Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload